What curriculum do you use?

This is a huge topic of conversation amongst the cruising moms.  What curriculum do you use?  Do you like it?  What do you suggest?   Any helpful sites you used along the way?

About sailingmoms

Spent the last 5 years of our lives floating around the globe. Amazing how much we have seen, experienced and lived through. Sharing the experience and knowledge with others out there or planning on making the jump.
This entry was posted in Home School Questions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What curriculum do you use?

  1. sailingmoms says:

    I didn’t follow a specific curriculum but decided to select my own. I had a math book that my son was struggling with. I will say he was just downright bored with the math book. One day I talked with another cruising mom about my struggles with math and she told me to look into the program ‘Math U See’. She was from Russia but taught her daughter in English. I was in New Zealand and was worried I would have to pay a small fortune to have it shipped to me but luckily it is a world wide program so I was able to get a New Zealand version. My son did a complete 180 on his ability to play with numbers. They use manipulative and a DVD with an instructor along with a student booklet, teachers guide, and test booklet. I even learned a few new things myself. Plus, I think the cost of the program was right on.

  2. I used the Calvert curriculum. It wasn’t perfect but it worked for us. When we first left, we were pretty intimidated by all the “newness” and didn’t want to complicate our lives too much by having to design our own curriculum. After the first year, we decided the format worked for us. Our kids are both great students and were able to guide themselves through the lessons using the Lesson Manual provided, with very little input from us. That was especially handy on passages when we were busy with other chores, or on windy days when we wanted to go kiting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

