It’s a Berry good day!

As I walked into the grocery store a big display caught my eyes.  BLUEBERRYS!  As I sat in front of the abundance of blueberries before me I remembered the time we arrived in New Zealand for the first time back in ’08.  After the dreaded passage from Tonga to our first stop in Civilization, in I don’t remember how long, we headed straight to the grocery store.  I know I am not the only one of us cruisers out there that has shed a tear upon entering a modern, fully stocked, grocery store.  Thinking my kids would run over to the chips and candy isle, I was pleasantly surprised when I heard squeals from my kids in the fresh produce section.  “Mom, Look Apples!  Are they too expensive?” said Seanna.  “Mom, BLUEBERRYS!” shouted Merric.  PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE can we get some!  Of course my answer was “YES!”  After eating bananas and papaya (paw paws) for the past year we were desperate for something different.  Luckily for me the Kiwi’s understood what we just experience and didn’t look at me crazy for the way my kids were behaving over fruit.  To make matters even more shocking; I even had Merric running down the isle with a fist full of broccoli screaming his excitement.  So, as I stood in front of this display of blueberries I had to pick up a few containers and make a little treat for the kids.  It is happy Friday!  Thanks for letting me relive the moment with you.

Recipe:

Blueberry Pounds!

1 Pound cake

1 medium container of Blueberries

1 lemon (Zest and juiced)

3 Tbs. Sugar

Whip Cream

In a small sauce pot add sugar and ½ lemon juice till dissolved.  Start preparing by slicing your pound cake into ½ inch slices and cut into circles using a cookie cutter or I used a small wine glass.  Two slices per serving.  Start with pound cake and with a small spoon drizzle a little of the lemon syrup on the cake, add blueberries and top with whip cream.  Repeat one more time and top the whip cream with blueberries, lemon zest and the a bit more of the lemon syrup.  Now it’s time to eat.  Enjoy!    

About sailingmoms

Spent the last 5 years of our lives floating around the globe. Amazing how much we have seen, experienced and lived through. Sharing the experience and knowledge with others out there or planning on making the jump.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s a Berry good day!

  1. Judy says:

    So simple! And looks so very good!!!

Leave a Reply

