Chewy peanut butter oatmeal bars

It’s that time of year again.  The promises to get in better shape, and eat right are heard all over the news.  Advertisements for Weight watchers, Jenny Craig and every diet pill imaginable are running incessant.  All the healthy food items and exercise equipment are move up to the front of the store in flashy displays.  Being they busy mom I am, I am constantly running around and never have time for a healthy snack.  I have also found that buying health bars to stash in my purse were starting to add up quick.  After talking to a personal trainer a few weeks ago she mentioned she made her own bars.  She quickly rambled out what was in them and I just as quickly put down the notes on an old scrap paper in my purse.  A few days later I found the tattered piece of paper and smoothed it out on my counter.  I experimented with a few of the ingredients until I found what I liked.  As I tweaked the recipe, I kept thinking how wonderful it would have been to have these to munch on during night watches.   I love that they are quick to make and no bake.  Anything to save on the propane was always a plus.

Chewy peanut butter oatmeal bars

1 1/2 cups Oatmeal                                       

1 cup non fat dried milk

2 Tbs. ground or whole  flax seeds

2 scoops protein powder (Chocolate or Vanilla)

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup water

2 tea. Vanilla

Optional additions:

dried fruit

dark chocolate chips

nuts

Combine all dry ingredients then mix in wet (peanut butter, water and vanilla). Mix until all combined and then press into a cookie sheet or baking pan lined with wax paper or in a ziplock bag.  Press until flat and reached desired thickness about 1/2 inch (1cm)  refrigerate overnight.  Cut into squares and pack up in lunch boxes or for snacks.  These little bad boys are packed with Protein and Fiber!!!!  

About sailingmoms

Spent the last 5 years of our lives floating around the globe. Amazing how much we have seen, experienced and lived through. Sharing the experience and knowledge with others out there or planning on making the jump.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

